California – State Courts

The Supreme Court of California is the state’s highest court, holding sessions throughout the state and regularly in San Francisco, Los Angeles, and Sacramento. The Court decides important questions of law and resolves discrepancies among the District Courts of Appeal. Death penalty cases are granted automatic appeal directly from the superior court. The Court has original jurisdiction in proceedings for extraordinary relief in the nature of mandamus, certiorari, prohibition, as well as habeas corpus proceedings. These makeup about 40% of the matters before the Court. The Court largely deals with Petitions for Review. Of the approximately 7,000 cases submitted for the Court’s review every year, only approximately 70 receive a written opinion. The Court requires strict adherence to its requirements for form and content, and the Clerk’s office will reject any non-conformant submissions. In a matter of such great importance, teaming up with the team of experts at Appellate Innovations gives you the confidence that your filing will meet the Court’s strict requirements. Contact us today to learn more at 914.948.2240 or

First Appellate District (A)

The 1st District is located in San Francisco and handles appeals from Alameda, Contra Costa, Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Marin, Mendocino, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Solano, and Sonoma counties.

Second Appellate District (B)

The Second District is the busiest appellate district in the state, with more than 5,000 notices filed annually, the 2nd District is broken down into 8 Divisions. The main courthouse is in Los Angeles and it handles appeals from Los Angeles County – Divisions One through Five, Seven, and Eight. The secondary courthouse in Ventura handles appeals from Division 6 – San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura Counties. Depending on your division, the procedural requirements for your filing may change. Contact the experts at Appellate Innovations today to learn more about the requirements for your appeal at 914.948.2240 or

Third Appellate District (C)

The 3rd District is located in Sacramento and serves as the appellate court for Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Mono, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Yolo, and Yuba counties.

Fourth Appellate District – (D, E & G)

District 4 is divided into three Divisions. Division One (D) is located in San Diego and has jurisdiction over matters from Imperial and San Diego Counties. Division Two (E) is located in Riverside and has jurisdiction over matters from Inyo, Riverside, and San Bernardino Counties. Division Three (G) is located in Santa Ana and has jurisdiction over matters from Orange County

Fifth Appellate District (F)

The 5th District is located in Fresno and serves the counties of Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Stanislaus, Tulare and Tuolumne.

Sixth Appellate District (H)

The Sixth District is located in San Jose and has jurisdiction over Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, and Santa Cruz counties.

E-mail or call today and speak to a member of our team